June 26, 2010

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:38 pm by Iain

I’m a person that can’t have favorite things. I don’t know why. I just can’t. However, I do think I can safely say that (500) Days of Summer, although not my favorite movie,  is probably the best movie that I have seen in my life to date. And for me, that’s saying something.

The movie does have its flaws (the title’s hip parenthetical ambiguity or the weird scene where the movie confuses Summer’s freedom to not be protected by sexism with being an uppity not-girlfriend), but the rest of the movie is pretty damn good. The music matches the feeling of the movie perfectly, the plot is spot on, and some of the scenes are so well done it’s like they’re your memories. And when a movie whose plot revolves around recreating a memory recreates your memory, well, I think it’s done pretty well as a movie then, don’t you think?

And furthermore! The reality / expectations scene is probably the single best scene ever created in the history of the universe! Nuts to you, future big-shot movie writers /directors,  you all suck. Quit trying.

A LIST OF OTHER SIMILARLY GOOD MOVIES:

1. O Brother Where Art Thou?

1 Comment »

  1. Blue.Reverie said,

    Hello. I’m reading your blog, and also writing in mine again. Yep!


Leave a Reply

